Armed to the Teeth – Coping strategies for dental procedures

Flashback from 2008, around the time when I first started this blog. I’ll be revisiting this and updating for the current situation — nearly 10 years on…

Aspie Under Your Radar

Armed to the Teeth

Coping strategies for dental procedures for highly sensitive individuals


Introduction

When it comes to health care, few aspects are as problematic for individuals with heightened physical sensitivities, especially those on the Autistic Spectrum and with Asperger’s Syndrome (“AS”). I, myself have had considerable sensory issues, from childhood into adulthood, and I’ve “been through the ringer” many times with the dentist. Fortunately, I’ve developed a number of coping strategies and mechanisms, and by trial-and-error, I’ve figured out how to visit the dentist successfully and persevere through even the most trying procedures.

I have written this work in hopes of shedding some light on the ubiquitous and mysterious conundrum of ASI’s and their extreme difficulties with the dentist. The coming pages explore this issue through the lens of my own personal sensory and social experiences, as a 43 year-old woman on the Asperger’s end of the Autistic Spectrum…

View original post 4,953 more words

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

