A place for everything in this busy life

interwoven mesh of different colors and shapes
Everything fits with everything else.

I have a lot going on, these days.

And it’s all good.

There are people in my life who encourage me to “slow down”… “take it easy”… not push myself too much.

The thing is, when I’ve got my proverbial “plate” full of all kinds of things I’m doing, I’m actually much better off, than if I’m pacing myself and not pushing my limits.

See, the difference between how I do things and how others do things, is dimentionality. That is, I don’t do things in a linear fashion. I can’t. I load them in on top of each other, and they fit together as different dimensions of the same types of activities.

It’s easier for me to write three books at one time, than do one, finish it, then start another. I have a bunch of books (more than three, actually) in the works, and I’ve been stalled for the past few months — mainly because I was under the impression that I had to take them one at a time… and not start the next, till I was done with the last. Huh. Yeah, that hasn’t been working. At all.

Likewise, at work, I’ve got a handful of different initiatives happening, and they’re all quite “exciting”… and not in a good way. Stuff keeps getting messed up, the different teams keep veering off course, and I’m not happy about it. The problem is, I’ve been trying to handle them, one thing at a time. And that’s not working. At all. I can’t stop things from happening at the same time, nor do I do well when I try to manage one project at a time. I need to “load up” and move everything forward in parallel.

I’ve really been doing myself a disservice, by trying to manage my projects and my overall workload in a sequential manner. That’s not how I work, it’s not how I function best. It’s a drain, in fact. And it frustrates me to no end, when well-meaning people urge me to “back off” and not push myself so hard.

News flash — I’m NOT pushing myself. I’m going with the unending flow of creative process. That’s where I need to allow myself to “be”. That’s how I need to allow myself to work.

If other people don’t have the capacity for this, it’s none of my business. But they also shouldn’t hold me back, thinking that I work exactly the same way that they do.

4 thoughts on “A place for everything in this busy life

  1. “If other people don’t have the capacity for this, it’s none of my business. But they also shouldn’t hold me back, thinking that I work exactly the same way that they do.”

    This right here sounds like the story of my life.

    I’m a multitasker, a nonlinear thinker (no matter what “the experts” say about even NT men being strictly linear thinks who only have one thought at a time), someone who finds it difficult even to describe the plot of a movie or book in chronological order because the story’s impression in my head is all-at-once, not step-by-step. When everything seems interconnected, it’s more effort to separate each thing into its own little pigeonhole than it is to just do whatever needs to be done WHEN it needs to be done, even if that means “jumping around” and appearing “attention-deficit” to observers who don’t get it…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah, I’m always working on a number of different things at once at work. I can’t function any other way apparently and have found or somehow acquired more things to do any time I just had one or two. It’s sometimes also exhausting, but beats the alternative!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. VisualVox

      I can’t seem to help myself at work, either. I collect these undertakings… and they follow me around like newly hatched ducklings that have imprinted on me.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

