The Cost of a Cure for Autism

… Maybe I’d try being non-autistic for a few hours… Doesn’t seem like much fun, actually.

Autism and expectations

I’ve asked myself if I would want a cure for my autism if it wasn’t mythical (the cure, not the autism). I’m a logical type, I’m not bound to any one part of me; if you told me I could replace my feet with wheels, I’d definitely weigh up the pros and cons (stairs would be a pain, but I’d really like whizzing along, a lot would come down to just how good the suspension would be), thinking things through is what I do.

To decide whether getting rid of my autism would be good or not, I’d first have to define which bits of me are the autism, and what would replace them. How could I begin to quantify that?

Some of my greatest joys, my purest moments of happiness, are found in the patterns I see all around me. In the way a butterfly flutters, or a wall…

View original post 715 more words

2 thoughts on “The Cost of a Cure for Autism

  1. Having ASD has shaped my personality so much, I think I would be lost. Sure, I probably wouldn’t miss the stress of overstimulation and the adherence to routine so strong that adaptation to a new routine gives me both anxiety and tends to tank my immune system, but the cognitive ability… I’d be lost without ti.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. “Some of my greatest joys, my purest moments of happiness, are found in the patterns I see all around me.”

    Me, too. I wouldn’t give it up for anything. I often feel sorry for (and, unfairly, frustrated with) people who can’t see the beauty or humor or whatnot in those patterns because they can’t even see the patterns.

    To stop being me, autism and all, I’d have to make myself smaller — and I don’t mean physically.

    Liked by 2 people

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

