August at last

red poppies in a field with blue sky overheadAs time goes on, I’m less and less of a fan of the summertime.

Days are too long and too bright.  Nights are too short, and I have trouble sleeping in the heat. I keep my air conditioner on, but it’s harder to sleep with that noise.

There’s too much activity. Everybody is running around DOING STUFF, and I have to do more stuff, too. I have to mow my lawn. I have to keep after the weeds and little trees sprouting up all over the place in my back yard. There are stink bugs, mosquitoes, moths, and all assortment of creepy-crawlies that proliferate. I know they have as much of a right to exist as I do… and they have a place in the world (probably more than me)… but they’re still a source of vexation.

The usual routine is thrown off, as people go on vacation, I never know who’s going to be in the office when, and it’s incredibly difficult to get anything done at work.

Well, whatever. I just have to take care of myself.

I’ve been laying low, for the past few days. Reading and listening to music and keeping life simple. Not spending much time on social media — it appeals to me less and less, as time goes on. I do value it for the links to recent research, but in all honesty, the level of discussion just depresses me, after a while. I guess I’m not naturally inclined to wedging my ideas into 140 characters of a Facebook post.

I long for extended thought… deep consideration. Really getting to the meat of things, rather than skimming along the surface.

Summer is passing on, and so I look back and take stock of what the past several months have brought.

round hay bales in field with cloudy sky overhead

Work has been fine, I suppose. It’s been too scattered for my liking, and I’ve toyed with the idea of moving on. How I would love to move on. But I’m in the middle of some big projects I need to finish, before I can do that. Plus, I’m just now getting the hang of a lot of stuff I do. So, why leave, now that I’m nearing a point of greater capability? Plus, the company is offering us all the chance to work from home up to 5 days a week. A lot of already do work from home a few days a week, but this would be official. And it would open the door to them changing the workplace configuration.

They’re talking about creating “the workplace of the future” or somesuch. And if you’re guessing that doesn’t make my heart brim with anticipation, you’re right. Too often, that sort of talk is about open workspaces, which is pure hell for someone like me. But if I can work from home 3-4 days a week, then that’s fine.

I’m working from home today. And planning a nap at midday. I have things I’d like to do with myself today, other than work, and the dreary conference calls I’m supposed to be on will make that possible. I’ll dial in and do a damn’ good job of simulating engagement.

And I’ll look back on the past few months, think about what I’ve learned, what I want to carry forward into the fall… I know it’s early. It’s only August, after all. But the light’s getting less, the temperatures are dropping, and I need to prepare for the coming fall. Heck, I need to prepare for friggin’ everything, these days. That’s what it feels like. Maybe that’s all part of getting older, but I’m feeling more autistic now than I can remember ever feeling. Even when I was melting down regularly, I didn’t feel as generally sensitive as I do now.

Maybe I’m just settling into this autistic identity. Getting used to being this way — and getting the hang of accommodating myself. Or something like that.

Anyway, I have to dial in to a call in 9 minutes, so I’ll wrap up now.

Moving right along… in the ever-widening/ever-tightening cycles of my life.

So it goes.

 

2 thoughts on “August at last

  1. Four seasons in the year and it seems we each have our favorite. I’ve always loved the sun, I grew up in the desert and now live on the hilly Mediterranean coast. Best of all, is swimming in the sea. There is also the fact that winter throws me into a tailspin if I am not careful as I hate the cold.
    Thanks for choosing to follow one of my blogs and I do hope you continue to enjoy the posts.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

