Is Twitter a Toxic Environment?

Another Twitter reblog, because I’m looking more and more to this particular corner of the social-media-verse to “round out” my life.

The Ageing Aspie

I love twitter; it’s my social media platform of choice. I have a Facebook account but I don’t use it for anything other than sharing fun stuff with my family. As my parents use it and read/comment on EVERYTHING I post it’s a heavily edited and censored version of me. My parents still don’t know about my AS diagnosis, as far as they know I’m the same old “normal” son I’ve always been.

On Twitter I have a cabal of interesting people I follow, a caucus of weird people who follow me and a junta of people I respect and occasionally see other people re-tweeting. For the most part Twitter is fun and I can be truer to myself than on any other social media platform. However it’s not without its problems. On more than one occasion I’ve fallen foul of “Twitter etiquette” or been set upon by the baying…

View original post 720 more words

2 thoughts on “Is Twitter a Toxic Environment?

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

