How Aspie / autistic people communicate, Part 1: Why we keep talking about something

I can really relate to this!

the silent wave

On the one hand, many Aspie/autistic people don’t talk much.  In social situations, we may “clam up” and desire to fade into the background.  But often, these same people may talk endlessly around someone we like, love, live with, or otherwise feel comfortable with.  Before we know it, we might have gone on a monologue.

In these cases, we often get accused (either good-naturedly or not) of “talking too much”.  I know I’ve heard phrases such as:

“You go on and on.”

“Just let it go” or “just let it drop already.”

“I think you’ve made your point.”

And yet, I may feel compelled to continue talking, tirelessly trying to drive the point home, without letting up.  From my perspective, something’s not right yet, something’s still missing.  I wasn’t done talking yet; I have more to say.

The other day, I got to thinking.  I thought about this scenario and…

View original post 962 more words

One thought on “How Aspie / autistic people communicate, Part 1: Why we keep talking about something

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

