Book Review: Autism and Asperger Syndrome in Adults by Dr. Luke Beardon

Great review! Reblogging for visibility. I ordered my copy already – encourage my readers to do the same.

aspergirlsanon

“Never believe anything you read about autism” this is how this brilliant little volume begins, and this sentence attracted me straight away.  I am tired of reading books and articles along the lines of “All autistic people are this.””You can’t be autistic because you can do that.” “If you have a diagnosis, you will react to this in such-and-such a way.”, because more often than not, they don’t describe me. The first chapter may be off-putting to those who seek definitive answers about autism – but the fact is, there are no definitive answers. No one theory fits all autistic people. I am pleased that Dr Beardon debunks the myth of “mild” and “severe” autism. Of the autistic people I know, if would be hard to classify them into these terms. To an observer now, one might say I have “mild” autism, but if you saw how I was as…

View original post 842 more words

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Autism and Asperger Syndrome in Adults by Dr. Luke Beardon

  1. Excellent book, not too long and a good one I think to pass on to family to help them with understanding and acceptance following diagnosis as the language is much less “disability” and more “different” than most others I’ve read.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

