Just for the record, I was absolutely spot-on in dreading this trip. 

Yesterday was a less-than-delightful voyage to the 3rd ring of hell, from 4am till midnight. 

III. GLUTTONY: “The circle itself is a living abomination, a hellish digestive system revealing horrific faces with mouths ready to devour the gluttons over and over for eternity.”

Gluttons on every side. Greedy, selfish, with systems in place to assuage their hungers at every turn.  

Come to think of it, I visited a number of other circles of hell, but I have no energy to elucidate them all. This may come in June, after I get more distance from the whole experience.   

Yesterday… ugh. One thing after another. Not terrible things, necessarily, but highly demanding things that – even when done well, they just suck the life force from you and make it impossible to know if you’re going to handle the next situation correctly.

It all turned out OK, in the end, and I’m getting a break this morning, but on so many levels, as invigorating as it is, it’s really truly wretched. And there are 3 more days of this.

Of course I’ll make it through in fine shape, I’ll be the consummate family member and reconnect and share quality time w/ others on their terms, and then I’ll spend the month of June recovering. 

But seriously, this is much more of a challenge for me than anyone can guess. Mission accomplished. They will never, ever know what this trip’s impact has been to me and my life. If they find out, then I become some pitiable “poor thing” and lose their regard…. As w/ most ppl who cannot fathom how you navigate certain challenges and still present as a regular person. 

Pity is an insult to me. Not going there. Not w/ this crowd.

Well… At least it’s a round-trip to the 7th ring of hell, not a one-way 😏

One thought on “Just for the record, I was absolutely spot-on in dreading this trip. 

  1. Pingback: Oh. My. Lord. What a quick, strange trip it was. – Aspie Under Your Radar

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

