Intermittently here

I’m supposed to be sleeping, right now. I’m halfway down to my family’s home, several states away from my own residence. I’m on the way to my aunt’s funeral.

I got a slightly later start than I wanted to, and then traffic was heavier than I expected, so I’m about half an hour behind schedule. That bothers me more than I wish it did. But, so it goes. 

I got a slightly later start than I wanted to, and then traffic was heavier than I expected, so I’m about half an hour behind schedule. That bothers me more than I wish it did. But, so it goes.

My mother will be in her element, because one of my sisters has brought all of her kids with her to attend the funeral, and now the house is full with teaming activity. I wasn’t expecting my sister to drive halfway across the country, but she did, and when I think about it, it makes perfect sense that she did. She was probably closer to my aunt than I was, and she certainly had a better rapport with her than I did, because her issues are so complementary to my aunt’s, plus, she has always been much better at the social interaction thing than I have.

I’m glad that my aunt will have more people at her funeral, but the idea of spending a couple of days with all that excitement is a little daunting. But, I pretty much grew up with that, so it’s nothing new. I’m just feeling a little overwhelmed from work pressures as well as family pressures at home, as well asThe other medical issues in my family which I have been tracking for the past few months.

The other medical issues in my family which I have been tracking for the past few months.

The main thing for me is to take care of myself. That means getting rest when I should, and taking it easy. I tried sleeping in a little while ago, since I’m at the midway rest stop, but it’s just not happening. So I will break out my cereal and almond milk and have my typical afternoon snack, drink a bottle of unsweetened fruit juice, and gradually make my way down the road.

Everything will be fine, as long as I stay flexible and keep my cool. Stoicism helps, and so does sleep.

It also helps me to blog, but I’m not sure I’m going to be able to do much of that for the next three days, so maybe I’ll just do things like this – pull over in a rest area, have a snack, stop moving, and get some relief by dictating into my phone. 

It’s a plan. 

4 thoughts on “Intermittently here

  1. This field was intentionally left blank

    Oh VV luv, I’m so so sorry to hear about this 💐💐. You write with an incredible clarity that makes me feel like I’m right there with you. In spirit, I am. Please keep taking care of you. Text me if/whenever you need to. Thinking of you lots. 🌷💞💞

    Like

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

