The incalculable cost of denying #autisticwomen an #autism #diagnosis

I’m really feeling this, today. Not having access to a diagnosis, or other information about autism (for women and men and non-binary folks who do not fit the “classic” criteria) is a huge handicap in life. And it’s 100% unnecessary. 100% preventable. Why prolong our suffering? Why?

Aspie Under Your Radar

Image showing six pictures of women who are blurred out and not clearly visible Image showing six pictures of women who are blurred out and not clearly visible

I’m sorting through my autism materials collection I gathered back in 2008, when I was re-commencing my quest for autistic understanding. I’ve got a bunch of PDFs from people who were at the vanguard, back then. And I’ve got a bunch of information from now-infamous pioneers whose work has been used to hold us back and justify all sorts of things, including beatings and electric shocks.

I’m glad I’ve got a wider perspective, now. Frankly, not being able to find reliable sources of info on autism, eight years ago, was one of the things that drove me back underground, to sort things out myself.

And I’ve done pretty well. I’ve actually done really well, as I got help from someone with deep expertise in executive functioning issues, who worked with me on a weekly basis to…

View original post 1,474 more words

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

