The Hurdles of Haircuts

I wrote this post almost 10 years ago – wow, how time flies. It’s still worth mentioning. For sure.

Aspie Under Your Radar

This post comes from a reply I made to a post over at (now defunct) Aspergers World. It turned out to be a lot longer than I originally intended to write, but I think it could help shed light on the dreaded issue of Aspie kids getting haircuts.

I’m a 43-year-old Aspie woman whose mother gave up taking me to the hairdresser when I was pretty young — probably around age 4 or 5, because I had so much trouble with it. She started cutting my hair at home, until she did a really awful job on the Saturday before Easter Sunday, and since my dad was the pastor of the church, we couldn’t show up at church looking like bedraggled ragamuffins! I squirmed so much when she was trying to cut my hair, that she couldn’t cut straight, if she’d tried! So, we were marched off to the home of…

View original post 2,402 more words

2 thoughts on “The Hurdles of Haircuts

  1. Oh. My. Goodness. I’ve never come across another hairdresser “refuser”. I’m now 56, I was 20 when I got married, and the last time I visited the hairdresser was the day before my wedding. At the time I thought I needed to do the traditional bride thing and I did want to be like everyone else at that time. It was my last visit. I can’t bear people touching my head, all that kind of wispy touching makes me shudder inside and that day I wanted to run away and cry. It wasn’t the experience I had expected as a bride to be. My work colleagues didn’t believe me when I first said this, long before we knew about my autism. They wanted to know how I get my hair cut, and my reply was simple, look at it, simple fringe (bang for those of you over the pond), and long enough to plait. I cut my own fringe in the mirror, and my husband or one of my daughters cuts the rear length, but not often. I can put up with family doing it, but not strangers. And I don’t have to answer pointless questions about where I might be going on holiday, or not. It’s amazing, I keep finding other Aspies with the same quirks as me. All those years, 56 of them, and I had no idea I had a tribe out there so like me. I love it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. VisualVox

      Ah, that’s great! Welcome! My solution now is to go to a barber, so I don’t have to deal with “lady” hairstyles — and all the pressure to get one. I still have difficulties, but it’s so much better now. And the barber works quickly. I find myself really tense and anxious — sitting rigid under the cover-up, and needing to remind myself to relax and breathe. Unfortunately, I can’t take long hair – the feel of it and the flying everywhere and catching it on things is even worse than getting my haircut. Nowadays, I get my hair cut really short, so I can go a few months before getting it cut again. Ah, well. There are more traumatic things, I suppose. It’s the price I pay for being moderately presentable.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

