Uncomfortable… So what?!?

I’m comfortable re-blogging this.

Thirty Days of Autism

30-days-of-autism-and-einstein-quoteI have been thinking about how often we are uncomfortable with feeling uncomfortable (which I cannot help but note is ironically circular in its very definition), and that I have observed and experienced the inherently powerful and positive opportunity that exists in how we choose to respond to our discomfort.

When considering this from a cognitive perspective, uncomfortable is often the response to the metaphorical wedge of new ideas, or a perspective that differs from what we have held as truth. These feelings of discomfort – sometimes referred to as cognitive dissonance – can function as a barometer of sorts, indicating that we need to pay attention and seek out more information, and re-evaluate what we considered to be our truth.

When I am questioning my assumptions and broadening my perceptions to be inclusive of the experience of others, when I am curious and listening, then I am adjusting my…

View original post 182 more words

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

