Words & What They Mean – Perseverate vs Rhapsodize

I like this approach much better.

Mamautistic

I’ve been thinking a fair amount about the meanings of words since last night’s #AutBurnout chat.

One of the questions was about whether we use the term “special interests” or a different one. My response was:

I prefer “focused” to “special” = focused interest, current focus, or current topic(s) of interest are all terms I use. I also like the term “immersed” to describe how I feel when I pursue my current interest.

The term “special interests” doesn’t particularly bother me on a personal level, but I understand why others are bothered by it. It sounds a bit condescending and brings to my mind terms like “special snowflake” that are often used derogatorily.

Then, while the topic was already on my mind, earlier today on Facebook a friend of a friend mentioned that they didn’t have another word for “perseverate” when referring to how lovely it is when our mutual friend talks…

View original post 753 more words

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

