How would you know if you were autistic? Sharing from Red Online

picture of a woman's face in three different aspects - large, small, line drawing
We are diverse. And you need to look deep to find what’s there.

Do you ever feel like you don’t quite fit in? Like everyone else knows ‘the rules’ of human relationships, except you? Of course you may wear your ‘otherness’ badge with pride and relish the sense that you’re just not like the rest, but it can also be a very lonely way to live.

I feel like everyone else is a PC and I’m a Mac – just ‘different’ rather than ‘less’ or ‘failing

Journalist and author Laura James says: “I always felt as if everybody else seemed to just ‘get it’ – whether it was friendship groups, relationships with boys or how to behave at mother and toddler groups once I became a mum. I always felt unsure of the unwritten rules. It’s had a major impact on my relationships and social interaction. When you get to your mid 40s and everything about you is weird you know something’s wrong”.

At 46, Laura was diagnosed with high functioning autism. “It’s completely controlled my life since early childhood – the way I mother my children and behave in my career and marriage. But it’s so difficult for others to see it”.

Basically Laura lives in fear. She’s always found that doing simple things that most of us would find merely slightly nerve-wracking or tiresome can be a source of abject terror. “Making small talk at a party makes me so fearful that I stay at home. I get so anxious about filling out forms that I’ve never applied for child benefit for any of my four children”.

Read the rest of this article at: Signs of autism | Mental health | Self – Red Online

8 thoughts on “How would you know if you were autistic? Sharing from Red Online

  1. Ayup.
    So relevant analogy for me. Windows is really inefficient for me, and everyone seems to rely on doing everything sighted ways. Click, read, drag mouse, click, mouse scroll, eyeball scroll… Whereas I love my macs and ios and any unix based systems. I first landed on a unix based system when windows xp came out, and still love them. To me the unix world just is; no gui needed. Do everything with just commands – or different kinds of eye ways if you want, or use voice. But it’s a different world, much richer ans fuller and more efficient. And if you don’t know how to do something in a unix world, check the man pages. So, I’m an aspie who loves unix and accessibility, gets frustrated immensely in the windows and inefficient people world, and i approve of your analogy 🙂
    There are very few people who i have even tried to fully explain how home the unix world feelts to me because most people are idiots and also can’t handle an aspie female who’s more a nerd than they are. So far about one person got it and didn’t find it weird (more like fascinating, he’s a teacher for visually impaired kids and told plenty of kids have have similar things that they just get)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. VisualVox

      Ah! ‘nix flavors! Fantastic. I’ve been wanting to spin up a separate Ubuntu instance on one of my boxes, but I never got around to it. Exec (mal)function. I do know what you mean, though — command line is a completely different way of relating to the world. So much richer, IMO. Now, to the real question – emacs or vi? 😉

      Like

      1. i’ve used both. when they banned videogames at work, i played all the emacs games on the terminal on my mac :p
        vi is awesome as each letter is so useful. but i’ve forgotten most vi commands so time to brush that a bit too.
        and the same – i need linux somewhere. maybe i’ll install it on a vm on my windows mini laptop (it’s mostly for just learning to use nvda and narrator and other accessibility poop)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. VisualVox

        Yeah, I was pretty much an emacs person. It’s a personal choice. I’ve been thinking of spinning up a linux instance somewhere. Or just using the web hosting space I have and accessing it through the command line. I used to be able to clone a WordPress instance from the command line (using PuTTY and mysql) in less than 10 minutes. Those were the days…

        Liked by 1 person

      3. i used to deal with vmware products, script, install, configure… one more reason to have a linux vm (or 5) soon again. even if it’s just for basic browsing and fooling around. i never played with linux accessibility, and while with vmware… i wish i had already realized how cool all the accessibility things can be (sorry, hah… do get me started on that IRL, another “special interest”)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmmm. I’m a vi user myself except when I needed to edit a binary shared library on solaris. Emacs was better for that specific task. Well, and then the times when I used sed to script changes. I’ve always been operating system agnostic, but I cut my programming teeth *nix flavors. And still routinely run and use various linux distros.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

