Echoing. Echoing.

vibration concentric circles of different colors

Something remarkable is appearing before my eyes.

When I write the way I think, my paragraphs have a fair amount of echolalia.

This is happening in my book Into the Deep.

I repeat things – say them either the same way, or in slightly different ways. But I repeat phrases. Sentences. And it serves a purpose. It serves as a gradual bridge from the feeling of one thought to the next, from one concept to the next.

It’s very synaesthetic. Very sensory. And it helps with the flow.

I’ll write more about this phenomenon later, but for now, let the record show that, when left to my own devices, when I don’t suppress it, echolalia shows up in my writing.

Maybe this is actually a more autistic way of writing, than how I was taught to write. Maybe this is me expressing myself in my naturally occurring state.

It’s more private than blogging, where I’m very cognizant of others reading and reacting to what I write. Writing a book is a private thing, a secret thing. For me, it’s an autistic thing.

So, why not write in a (my) naturally autistic style?

How interesting…

11 thoughts on “Echoing. Echoing.

    1. VisualVox

      Oh, it is — it surely is. Echolalia is repeating stuff over and over (and over and over and over). It can be very soothing, and it can take the edge off one’s anxiety. I’ve been doing it a lot, lately, with a spike in stress in my recent life. My partner has been noticing it more – probably because I’ve been doing it more around her. Usually, I keep it to myself. But these days, I need all the stress relief I can get.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Heh. I guess everyone has their own words that sound harmonious. My mum had quite a few, and that just drew me mad. I’m more of a silent kind, butsince tired of hiding, I’m picking a few stims and blindisms I like. Life is too short to try to pretend to fit in. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. VisualVox

        I hear you. I’ve stopped stopping myself from stimming as much as as I used to. Everybody can just deal with it. Also, “switching off” my vision and relying on touch actually makes so much more sense to me at times. I may just get myself some blackout glasses, to see how that works for me.

        Other people’s stims annoy me, if they don’t match mine, I have to admit. Especially when they interrupt my thought process. I feel terrible about it, but so it goes.

        Ah, the great variety of life 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ever have to explain to a random typically-bodily-abled NT why people stim or rock etc? As if it was that difficult for them to try what it feels like or what effects it has.
        I sometimes wish humans had tails. It would be so much easier to figure what mood someone is in (the same way as you can tell so much of a cat or a dog from the tail). Then again humans would probably have some really weird social rules about when, how and how much it’s polite to wag your tail.

        Liked by 2 people

      4. VisualVox

        Ha! Yeah, the usefulness of the tail totally depends on what it’s attached to. Putting tails on humans could make our already confounding situation even more elaborate. As though it ever could be…

        Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

