Asperger’s / autism, genetics, & MIT ~ Part 3: The Lernaean Hydra

Brava! Brava! And thanks for the shout-out!

the silent wave

The Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) has received $20 million to establish a brand-spankin’-new autism research wing.  This is deeply disturbing to me.  MIT is a huge scientific/technological think-tank, known for solving mysteries of the universe and Getting Stuff Done.  I don’t want the genetic manipulation of People Like Us to be on their to-do list.

So, true to (my personal) form, the oppositional retorts started to sprout and gather speed in my head, reaching dizzying intensity, and of course, those ideas shot out like sparks in several different directions.

Over the course of the next several days, I frantically typed notes into my mobile, notes of thoughts as they popped into my head.  Because these concepts appeared separately over time, my thoughts ended up covering a variety of offshoots, themes, and analogies.

So, I turned my cognitive chaos into a mini-series of posts (the first two of which…

View original post 1,743 more words

One thought on “Asperger’s / autism, genetics, & MIT ~ Part 3: The Lernaean Hydra

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

