I appear to be a deep-sea creature

Picture of deep-sea crustacean. Text reads: This creature has adapted to the crushing pressure and oppressive darkness
Picture of deep-sea crustacean. Text reads: This creature has adapted to the crushing pressure and oppressive darkness

I came across something quite useful on Twitter this morning. It’s a picture of a deep-sea crustacean which has adapted to conditions that most creatures could not survive.

I’m starting to think of myself as that kind of creature. My life is not particularly easy. It’s got plenty of challenges, and setbacks show up with surprising frequency.

But I seem to have adapted to it all. Setbacks don’t even seem like setbacks to me, half the time. I adjust. I adapt. If I’m not feeling up to doing something, I replace it with something else that’s easier/better/more fun. And I don’t miss the stuff I can’t do, all that much.

Because I’m much too busy just getting on with my life. Under pressure. With a lot of darkness.

And it’s good. It’s actually really good.

In a way, the pressures of the world around me help to orient me in my daily activities. And the darkness… it’s not all that bad, so long as I can keep it in perspective and remember that just because I feel terrible, doesn’t mean I am terrible. Big difference. But I haven’t always known that.

Now I do. And it’s fine. It’s not perfect, but it gives me opportunities to live in a manner very, very differently from the rest of the world around me. And I wouldn’t change it for the world.

I’ve acclimated. I don’t need pity. Or even special accommodations. No, it’s not perfect, but that lack of perfection is what drives me to make things better. And accommodations would ease and soften the blows of things that need to be solved at the root.

So, I’m solving a lot of things at the root. In my life. In my daily routine. It works for me. I’d never wish it on anyone else, but it works for me.

Call me “deep sea crustacean”.

6 thoughts on “I appear to be a deep-sea creature

  1. This field was intentionally left blank

    I love this analogy! Your description of “crushing pressure” and “oppressive darkness” is particularly appropriate, especially given what you’ve been through, both now and in the culmination of life. I admire your adaptation and resilience! I love that you manage to maintain a positive outlook and even a sense of humor through it all. Well done, and well expressed in this post! Awesome 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼❤️

    Liked by 2 people

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

