Autism or Asperger’s?

Holy smokes, does this *ever* sound familiar! I miss the old days of Aspergers… it really simplified things in my mind, and it made everything easier to explain to others – not that they were listening, but it seemed easier to me.

Anonymously Autistic

Autism or Asperger’s which is it? Well that depends on where & when you were/are diagnosed.

In 2013 the US made a switch to the DSM-5. The medical coldness and pathology in this document still makes my skin crawl. It is so negative and one-sided. I wish for every bad thing they listed they could add some of the skills that you can look for and encourage in Autistic children.

Other countries use other similar diagnostic manuals.

This switch has caused a great deal of confusion because of the way it eliminated Asperger’s, lumping it into the Autism Spectrum.

Now in the US, depending on when you were diagnosed, there is no Asperger’s – we are all Autistic. Random Aspie fact – some people diagnosed pre 2013 with Asperger’s choose to say they have Asperger’s and others choose to tell people they are Autistic.

People were starting to understand Asperger’s as…

View original post 398 more words

2 thoughts on “Autism or Asperger’s?

  1. This field was intentionally left blank

    I love this post! Good reblog :)) Personally I still use the Asperger’s term. I even use the “Aspie” term; it’s relevant to me 🙂 That’s not to say, of course, that it’s superior to classic autism in any way – just different – and it doesn’t have to be dividing, of course. 🙂 I keep going back to the operating system analogy (because in my mind, it fits really well) – we may be running different versions of Mac – maybe some of us are Sierra and some of us are Yosemite; but in the end, we’re all Macs. I think it is OK to specify which “version” we’re running, though 🙂 Just my thoughts LOL. At any rate, awesome post, and I can relate as well ❤

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

