Friday! Friday! Friday!

cat lying on back in grass

Can you tell I’m excited?

Not only am I enthused that the week is soon over, and the weekend is just around the corner, but I’m also thrilled that I’ll have a quiet day at the office. I’ll have time to settle in and really focus on my work – far from the madding crowd, who will mostly be working from home.

I like the people I work with. I really do. They’re actually a lot like me, we have similar senses of humor, and they’re nice enough. And they’re not total jerks. That’s a plus.

Still and all, it’s really wonderful when I get to work from home. I don’t have to contend with the environmental stresses of the overhead fluorescent lights, the intrusive sounds and smells and interruptions. Here at home, I am solitary, I have an environment that works exactly for me, and I don’t have to deal with the harsh lights and noises and unexpected spikes in social activity outside my cube. Lucky me, I sit at a corner, flanked by offices of upper-level people who have a steady stream of sycophants “just stopping by” to shoot the sh*t and impress their boss.

Sigh.

Anyway, today will probably be pretty quiet, since it’s Friday – when most people work from home. So, that’s super cool. Super, super cool. And I can go to the pool and have a nice leisurely swim — or an energetic one, if I like.

The really nice thing is that, since I had two days working at home, I am far less stressed than I am when I don’t work from home at all, or I only have one day. It’s wild, how much it helps me to not have to drag my ass into the office, through traffic, and being surrounded by all those environmental stressors.

I hate to think I’m that susceptible, but hello – I am. I’m not a shrinking hothouse flower. I have an extremely sensitive system that’s attuned to my environment in ways most NT people can never, ever suspect. Compared to me, they’re little blocks of wood with legs, walking around in oblivion. I don’t have that luxury. And why should I?  My sensitivities are my strength.

If only I weren’t punished for them, each and every day of living in that world.

But today I don’t expect to be punished. Today, I expect to have a supremely awesome day. In peace. And quiet.

16 thoughts on “Friday! Friday! Friday!

    1. VisualVox

      I agree 🙂 I used to have a lot of cats, but losing them was too traumatic. I just can’t bear the thought of getting attached to them anymore and then losing them… so I stick with pictures 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. VisualVox

        We always had cats for our 20-some years my partner and I have been together – until about 5 years ago. We had 5 of them, for a while. But the prolonged illnesses, and their passing – it was just too much. We just can’t do it again… I credit you with giving two more a chance. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. VisualVox

        I don’t think so. People are lot less engaging for me than cats. Cats understand me. They don’t judge. We connect on a level that both of us understand. People… I have to explain too much to them. And I’m often relieved when they leave my life, for whatever reason.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. VisualVox

        I really miss my little Nicky Boy, this time of year. When I would meltdown (as I usually did in the holiday season), he’d come find me and curl up beside me, lay his paw on my arm, and purr… He was always there. He was the only one who was always there without asking anything for himself. I miss him.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. This field was intentionally left blank

    I just knew you were a fellow cat person 😉 Seriously, though, nice post! I can relate. We work a half-day on Fridays, leaving the office at what would be lunchtime. Although my partner has a full schedule, I try to get all my meetings and peopling done by lunchtime on Thursdays. Fridays for me, then, are similar to yours – working independently. Love it! I could do it from home except that the cats are too distracting and I have to drive my partner to the office anyway 😊😊

    Happy Friday to you! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. VisualVox

      Free-form Fridays are the best! I’m actually able to think – and figure out what I need to get done before the end of the year (that I may have completely forgotten!) 😀

      Like

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

