Gearing up for my #Aspergers counseling

maze
I am here…

So, after hunting around for a bit, doing some research on counselors who actually have heard of Aspergers/autism, referring to a list provided me by a local autism support organization, I found someone in my area who provides counseling services for folks on the autism spectrum. I gave him a call, and he seems nice enough. No alarm bells went off, although he did seem a bit harried. Or it could be that he’s on the spectrum, himself, and he’s not that keen on talking on the phone.

As a matter of fact, he suggested I could just text him, rather than call, as that’s his preferred mode of communicating. Hmmmm… Sounds like an Aspie to me.

Anyway, regardless of his “spectrum status”, he does apparently have a working familiarity with Aspergers. He leads a bi-weekly support group, as a matter of fact. That might be a good sign. He sent me a bunch of forms I need to fill out, so I have to do that in advance. Seven pages to read through and fill out. Not my favorite thing, but if he can help me, it’s worth it.

I’ll just treat it like an executive function strengthening exercise.

I’m really hoping I can meet with him at least once a month. I’m not sure I want to do more than that. It’s winter. It’s snowing. I don’t want to be driving all over creation for the next four months. Plus, I’m already seeing someone else for other issues I have, and I don’t want to overly complicate things.

But this is important to me. Aspergers/Autism has been a major part of my life for as long as I can remember, but I’ve never gotten explicit help with it. If anything, when I’ve reached out for help, I’ve been rebuffed — smacked down by people who had no idea that women present differently from men, and that adult autistic women are very different “creatures” than 6-year-old autistic boys. I’m sick and tired of having to muddle through everything myself, and I need a living person I can talk to about my issues, without feeling like I’m losing my mind, I’m making things up, or I’m just trying to get attention.

So, I’ve printed out all the forms, and I’ll start working my way through them. They’re not too-too dense, so it shouldn’t be too much of a chore. It might actually be good for me, as a matter of fact.

We’ll see.

We’ll see.

5 thoughts on “Gearing up for my #Aspergers counseling

  1. This field was intentionally left blank

    You go, girl! This is awesome 😊 I’m right there with you, gearing up for the same thing, once my schedule and workload lighten up a bit and I can save up a little funding. I’m so happy for you! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. VisualVox

      Thank you! I’m a little nervous, to be honest. I’ve never discussed this aspect of my life with anyone in person (in real life) before. At least, not in any real depth. Nobody could be bothered to consider I might need to. We’ll see how it goes. Thanks for your support!

      Like

  2. Know very well how you feel about filling out forms and approaching yet one more “professional’ person with hope for understanding and validation.

    Wishing you all the best for your appointment and think you’re wise to leave a month between appointments… you could easily need that time to process your session and more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. VisualVox

      Thanks 🙂 I’m staying hopeful, regardless of what’s happened in the past. Anything is logically possible, so I’m staying logical and keeping my spirits up. Thanks again for your support 🙂

      Like

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

