It’s been quiet here. Very, very quiet.

November 1-15 statistics showing sharp downward trendI have not had the energy to post much of anything, in the past week, as you can see. Nor have many people stopped by to read. And now that the election results have put someone in charge who openly mocked disabled people and incited his followers to violence, to be honest, I’ve toyed with the idea of going back to my moniker “Aspie Under Your Radar”.

I’ve been worried. Deeply, deeply worried, about the potential impact to myself and the world I live in — especially the most vulnerable. And I can’t help but find parallels between what’s happening here now, and what happened in Germany, back in in the 1930s.

I have a hard time believing we will sink to the depths of a Nazi 2.0 society, ourselves. But I also have a hard time believing we’ll escape that same fate.

Then again, part of me feels like we’ve actually always been in a borderline fascist society in these United States, and that these problems that are cropping up in plain view are really nothing new. In fact, it’s surprisingly similar to the world I grew up in. So, I already have experience dealing with it.

For days after the election, I was wreathed in the smoke and mirrors of political intrigue, dismay, depression, and a host of other deeply felt concerns… much of it fueled by Facebook, which is where I re-connected with a lot of my friends who are on the same wavelength as me. And I realize yet again, why I stay off Facebook — it took such a toll on me. I was getting too caught up in the whirlwind of that shocker of a result. Plus, I wasn’t taking good care of myself. And I was spinning — wildly in circles — caught up in the spin-cycle of cultural dismay… all of which just knocked the stuffing out of me.

The worst and most taxing thing of all, has been the utter lack of logic to this whole political scene. The arguments for/against each candidate are steeped in bias and misinformation, and precious little reality – no matter how you slice it. Lack of nuance. Lack of sophistication. Lack of compassion – for anyone who doesn’t agree with you. All the platitudes and fear-mongering and one-dimensional picking of sides that just pushes away everyone else who doesn’t agree with all of your points. People usually have their own reasons for doing things, which you cannot begin to understand, because you’ve never lived their life.

There’s been no balanced discussion. There’s been no give-and-take, other than ideological Molotov cocktails lobbed over the barbed-wire mental barriers we’ve erected around ourselves.

THAT inability to see other sides is what got us into this situation. Not just one candidate. Not just one election. This divide, this oversimplification, this refusal to admit that others may have a point, combined with this lust for armed conflict, has been building for years and years. This is not new. It’s how we roll, in this country. We just have a Bigger And Badder case of it, right now. For some people, nothing has really changed. For others, they’re now forced to look at things that they’re accustomed to not considering. At all. Only time will tell, whether anything actually ever changes as a result of this. But I’m not holding my breath.

Instead, I’m taking action. I’m doing something constructive. I’m pouring my energy into positive things that are intended to deliberately help others. Because really, that’s the only thing that really matters to me, right now. Helping others who need help.  No matter how they voted. Everybody’s got to manage their own corner of the universe and do what they can to make things better. I’m doing what I can.

How ’bout you?

9 thoughts on “It’s been quiet here. Very, very quiet.

  1. This field was intentionally left blank

    I’m with you, girl! I’m one of the faithful who always has a tab open to your blog, too 😉😉

    I hear you, too. Loud and clear, in a good way. The election (understandably) has sent people into a tailspin, and social media has been very tough, too; mostly the fear and pain that people are feeling; it has all really gotten to me. I’ve tried to maintain a regular check-in schedule because I care about everyone so much. But yeah, it’s been tough. Selfish, I know. ❤️

    I totally empathize with the need to step back and take a break from time to time. It’s part of self-care, good friend. I’m glad for you that you did it. I hope it helped some? Or at least prevented things from going further south? I hope you’re well; I think about you every day, whether you write a blog post or jump on Twitter, or not ❤️ I know that if I don’t see you for a while, it’s because you needed to take some time. I definitely won’t forget about you; you’ll always have a friend here 😊💐

    Liked by 1 person

    1. VisualVox

      Thank you. 🙂 I think I’ve recovered sufficiently to get back into the swing of things, though probably at a different pace than before. So, so much to sort out… Sheesh.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These times are horrific. Don’t know what is going to happen but, like you I fear a repetition of 1930s Germany. I’m NT, but my brother is low functioning and autistic as well. In the 1950s he was dx’d and the only public accommodation was a 6,000+ ‘patient’ asylum. Since then things have gotten better for people like him, but who knows how long that will last. I hope we all keep the opposition alive by challenging each unconstitutional effort (via ACLU), regaining a balanced legislature (via mid-term elections) and not giving up.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. VisualVox

      I agree. It’s truly terrible. It is better than it was 60 years ago in the USA, but we have a long, long way to go. I agree, that the coordinated efforts of groups like the ACLU offer some hope. I just worry for the folks on the margins. I worry a lot.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I’ve been thinking a lot about everyone over the pond. I’m completely incapable of expressing myself in 140 characters.

    It was bad enough when the UK voted to be insular and small-minded, seeing an open fascist elected to power is terrifying. And I don’t live there.

    It’s at times like this I feel quite separate from people. I cannot process how tens of millions of people thought this was a good idea. That they don’t care about women or minorities. That they can’t make the mental leap from “This might suit me” to “But this would hurt people who aren’t like me.”

    I don’t understand that lack of empathy. Which is probably a good thing.

    So have a distant hand-hold from a useless Brit, whose own country is self-destructing needlessly. 💐💐

    Liked by 2 people

    1. VisualVox

      Thanks for your thoughts. This situation has been brewing for many, many years. It has its roots in partisan politics, which have become increasingly rancorous and divisive and aggressive over the past decades. I think it really started in the Reagan era, which was when I was in high school. There are many, many parallels… the main difference being that now the stakes are much higher, and things are at fever pitch. As extreme as everything is — and as incapable as people are of talking to each other logically about, well, anything, anymore — I just don’t have much hope. Not right now, anyway. But still we fight on.

      Liked by 2 people

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

