I probably would have preferred *not* to be mainstreamed in school

I concur with so, so much in this!

the silent wave

For the cheap seats (in case this is your first visit to this blog)… 🙂   I’m an Aspie/autie; that is to say that I “have” Asperger’s/autism.

I was enrolled in “regular” public school, after two successful and enjoyable years of Montessori school.

My first year of kindergarten (that’s right – “first year” – there were two) kicked off my scholastic “crash and burn”.

My parents knew something was “up”.  Not wrong–just different.  They knew that I wasn’t like the other kids.  Back then, there was no adequate term used to describe the Asperger’s neurotype.  Only “severe” cases were investigated, and the condition was diagnosed as “Infantile Autism”, a closely-related sibling of childhood schizophrenia, and that was that.

That left me and others like me in limbo.  Nobody thought twice.  Nobody had a reason to; the terminology just wasn’t there .

But that doesn’t mean that I (or any of the…

View original post 2,439 more words

One thought on “I probably would have preferred *not* to be mainstreamed in school

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

