When Do We Get to Be Autistic?

This is a great piece, written by the kind of ally I want. And we need.

Erin Human

img_3994

Image is a yellow/blue watercolored background with the text: I have been congratulated for “overcoming autism” : a well meaning gesture that means nothing at all. For a time I thought this was applause for having the ability to pass, but I have learned that it’s code for “we expect you to act normal now and anything that you can’t do we will consider a personal failing.” – eisforerin.com

*

I’m seeing a new therapist and I’ve told her how much I like to write; last week I told her that I haven’t blogged in a while because I haven’t had the time, but this morning I told her that I’ve realized I am not writing because I don’t know what to say.

She told me that it’s important to keep doing this so that I have a voice.

So I’m going to try to say some things.

*

I…

View original post 1,075 more words

2 thoughts on “When Do We Get to Be Autistic?

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

