Land of confusion: thought clouds on whether or not I should go for an official Asperger’s / autism diagnosis

So, so much to process…

the silent wave

To get an official diagnosis or not to get an official diagnosis: that is the question.

And believe me, that’s an “umbrella” question, under which are nestled a bunch of other sub-questions.

I’ll try to sort it all out…

The first question I have to ask myself is, do I want an official diagnosis?  The answer is, I think so.

The next question is, why?  I think I have a couple reasons for considering becoming “official”.  The first and most important reason is that it stands a good chance of bringing me some closure, some finality, some solace, in that I would hear the words “yes, you are on the spectrum” or “yep, you’re an Aspie” from someone with the “right” credentials, someone who does this for a living.

The follow-up question to that is, do I need that closure, finality, and solace?  Would it really make me feel that…

View original post 1,258 more words

2 thoughts on “Land of confusion: thought clouds on whether or not I should go for an official Asperger’s / autism diagnosis

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

