“Work-Life Balance” – What are we talking about?

I have a very fluid relationship with work and life – they both overlap so completely, and work brings tremendous meaning and purpose to my life, even when I’m “working for someone else”. It’s all a creative continuum for me, not something that can be neatly divided — like factory work can be from home life.

thequestioningaspie

I’ve been thinking a lot recently about “work-life balance”.

It’s a topic that is talked about a lot around me, but it’s something that I struggle with – and as I think that much of the reason why I struggle with it is to do with the (intense, obsessive, stubborn, uncompromising), parts of my personality – and the ways of working that come out of that – that contribute to my being recognised as autistic, this feels to me like a “social construction of my disability” issue – and I think that expressing my point of view here in my blog is therefore appropriate.

My Point of View? 

Yes. Entirely that. I am in no way attempting to suggest any overarching, universal perspective on “work-life balance”, or to propose any kind of policy that would work for everyone. Indeed, a big part of my reason for writing this post is to…

View original post 2,149 more words

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

