You Don’t Seem Autistic to Me: Asperger’s and the Fear of Not Being Believed

I can relate to so much in this piece. It’s a really great read – and I’m sure I’m not alone. At least, there are two of us who feel this way. 😉

Near-Earth Object

Do you remember when you were a kid, and being sick meant the tantalizing possibility of staying home from school for a day? I was usually pretty pleased to be just sick enough to avoid the misery of middle and high school, as long as the illness in question wasn’t something agonizing. (I did have some brutal ear infections back then that I did not enjoy.)

I remember that I would become pretty defensive about just how sick I really was. “Are you sure you’re not well enough to get through the day?” my parents would ask. I, taken aback by my parents’ skepticism, would respond with incredulity. “Yeeeesssss! I’m suuuuuure!” That defensiveness was due to the fact that I knew I wanted to be sick, and I knew that it was possible that I could maybe make it through the day, that I was perhaps playing…

View original post 1,382 more words

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

