Sharing: 6 Challenges That Come With Being a ‘Passing Aspie’  from “The Mighty”

What a fantastic piece! I enjoyed every word of it!

You probably know me.

At least, you’ve seen me around town. I look just like any other soccer mom, after all. I have matched clothes and cared-for hair, and I go with my soon-to-be-stepdaughter and fiancé shopping at the mall and to the movies like anyone else. I had affluent parents and a good education. I was quiet and shy but sweet and was in the chorus and the National Honor Society in high school. I went to college and got a job, gave polite smiles to my coworkers in the hall and maybe even chatted you up at a cocktail party. I had a marriage that sadly ended in divorce and survived it stoically. I am sure that you know me, or think you’ve met someone just like me.

But the truth is that you don’t really know me at all. Like millions of others, I have what is called an “invisible disability.” Invisible disabilities are those that one cannot see on the surface. Many intellectual and developmental disabilities (I/DD) fit into this category, such as learning disabilities, mild autism spectrum disorders like Asperger’s syndrome and mild cerebral palsy.

I’m a “Passing Aspie” – one of the ninjas of the invisible disability world. You have to know us fairly well to ever see our truth.

Please read the rest of this great piece at “6 Challenges That Come With Being a ‘Passing Aspie’ | The Mighty

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

