Too Autistic to Listen to, or Not Autistic Enough to Count?

Nice post. It echoes a number of my concerns, as well, although I don’t have kids. Still, the dismissal happens.

the uninspirational

I read this post about how autistic adults are being dismissed from Un-Boxed Brain and it made me think of a pattern that a friend of mine (who is an autistic adult) pointed out a while ago. When autistic adults talk about their experiences and especially when they tell non-autistic parents of autistic children about their own childhoods, they are often dismissed as impertinent. Either they are considered to be too autistic and not knowing what was good for them when they were kids, or they are told that they are not autistic enough to be able to understand all the difficulties that the so-called very autistic children and their parents experience. This pattern is very ableist in many ways and it makes me very sad to see it.

This is also one of the reasons why I don’t know if I will ever be open to my child’s teachers…

View original post 78 more words

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

