Woo hoo! 150 pages of intermittent trigger warnings

Image of person walking with streaks around them
It’s walking a fine line, here…

So, I’m working on “Into the Deep“, my memoir about the experience and impacts of a super-sensory day, and I have to say, the thing is chock-full of trigger-warning type situations. Not every single page, but there’s something in just about every chapter to warrant a bit of a warning.

I’m conflicted about how best to handle this.

I mean, I don’t want to be a jerk about it and not tell anybody what they should watch out for. Some of the stuff I talk about is relatively “mild”, according to some, while other passages still set me off a bit. Indeed, the whole point of the book is actually to both “take you there” — to relate the experience in ways that are intimate, experiential, palpable… to make people more than a little uncomfortable in places… and to explain the source of the discomfort.

Indeed, what’s the point of explaining the discomfort, if I don’t make it clear how… uncomfortable it is?

It’s hard to know how to handle this. I guess I’ll offer a potential trigger warnings listing in the introduction, for those sections that seem a little edgy to me.

I don’t want to overestimate people’s ability to handle this stuff.

But at the same time, I don’t want to underestimate the impact of what I’m writing.

It’s all a careful balancing act, I suppose.

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

