Sharing from Raising Rebel Souls: Terrible Things “Autism Professionals” Say

What an amazing great post from  Raising Rebel Souls!

I just finished reading an excellent essay over at Unstrange Mind titled “S is for Stop Saying Savant Syndrome and Splinter Skills” written by Sparrow Rose Jones. Because my children are twice exceptional, both disabled and gifted, these descriptors have been applied to them by several “therapists” and “autism professionals”. One in particular said something that still irritates me to no end. As I described one of my children’s strengths in reading she responded with;

“We call those Swiss cheese brains.”

This is a terrible thing to say about someone you are supposedly serving. She considered my child’s wonderful brain, his wonderful person, as a piece of cheese with holes in it. It was her, the highly skilled “professional”, that would fill in these holes and return my child whole. As if she, lacking respect, lacking empathy, and lacking understanding, should have authority over deficits to be addressed. If my children have Swiss cheese brains, you, benevolent “therapist” have a Swiss cheese heart.

I cannot believe I subjected my children to this industry. I regret.

Please read the rest of this amazing post at  Raising Rebel Souls!

 

2 thoughts on “Sharing from Raising Rebel Souls: Terrible Things “Autism Professionals” Say

  1. “We call those Swiss cheese brains.”
    Now if anyone would dare utter such an absolutely unprofessional and abusive offence against my children or myself, would certainly have to give an account before the Law about it…
    Absolutely disgusting!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

