My Diagnostic Criteria for 299.00 Autism Spectrum Disorder – CDC Style

abstract colorful artwork from of lines and shapes
Like my artwork, if you can appreciate uniqueness and abstraction, you can “get” my life

The CDC has a list of diagnostic criteria for Autism Spectrum Disorder, based on the DSM-V. In their diagnostic outline, they ask for the rating of severity, which I think is a little deceptive. AS issues can range in severity, depending on time and circumstance and the age of the individual. And in later years, while our issues may affect us severely, the way we express / display them may be mitigated by “survival techniques” we’ve learned along the way. So, observations of behavior — especially later in  life — may not be accurate reflections of experienced issues.

See what the deal has been with me at different points in my life:

At: My Diagnostic Criteria for 299.00 Autism Spectrum Disorder – CDC Style

2 thoughts on “My Diagnostic Criteria for 299.00 Autism Spectrum Disorder – CDC Style

  1. Thanks again VV, once again an excellent tool which helps me remember the so many things you mention, which otherwise I would have hardly remembered. Amazing how reading yours, recalls precise and exact instances.
    I’m collecting my own data for arranging it into a similar chart. I am kind of a chart geek, I can easily corroborate data, which I really enjoy doing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. VisualVox

      Glad you’re enjoying it. I think the whole area of autism spectrum criteria, severity, and impacts is largely uncharted territory. It seems to be piecemeal, for some strange reason. Almost as if researchers weren’t even consulting with actually autistic individuals. Might that be, by any chance? (my late-evening attempt at humor).

      Anyway, yes, it is amazing, how reading other people’s accounts can job our memories and also bring certain things to light that we hadn’t thought about properly before. Unfortunately, some clinicians seem to think that it’s the equivalent of “medical student syndrome”, where med students suddenly start having symptoms of diseases they read about. In our case, it couldn’t be farther from the truth.

      But we’re all learning, I suppose…

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

