I would have built robots

These sorts of regrets show up all the time… but it’s never too late to turn the tide and just go in the direction you love — especially if everything’s broken, anyway. You can just do . Just to it. And you needn’t tell another soul… unless you want to.

Autism and expectations

When I was little I wanted to make robots. I was going to be an inventor. Robots were the future, they were going to be everything, and I was going to design them.

I’d spend ages drawing pictures of different tin-cans with claws and wheels and springs.

I remember being frustrated that I didn’t know how to put them together. I didn’t know how to create.

Whenever any appliance broke, I would ask if I could have a screwdriver and a hammer and take it apart.

It’s an adorable image, isn’t it? A small girl in her turquoise t-shirt dress with boats on it (labels secretly removed by her with the scissors she wasn’t allowed to use) sat at the kitchen table, carefully taking apart a toaster. Trying to find its secrets in the hopes that it would help her make robots.

Legs dangling from the chair. Chin barely above…

View original post 451 more words

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

