Why the “rest” of the world is largely unaware of people on the spectrum

Great post – very insightful and with a point of view that bears considering. I’m sure a lot of folks come to this same conclusion…

the silent wave

Today marks exactly–and only–3 1/2 months since I discovered my membership on the Asperger’s/autism spectrum.

Before that, the possibility had never even so much as crossed my mind.

Being that I’m in the healthcare field, I’m embarrassed to admit just how little I knew about Asperger’s and the rest of the autism spectrum.  Sure, I was “aware” that it existed.  I even knew how to spot some of the more obvious autistic “behaviors”.  I knew about the “desperate” “plight” of mothers of children on the spectrum (who can miss that??).  I was familiar with several of the proposed causal/correlative/associative theories of autism, such as gut bacteria imbalance, methylation issues, sensory processing issues, and toxic overload.

All I knew about Asperger’s, though, was the (unfounded and completely inaccurate) claim of a “cold” and “detached” personality.

Since I had never even entertained the idea that I might be an Aspie myself…

View original post 914 more words

One thought on “Why the “rest” of the world is largely unaware of people on the spectrum

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

