Meltdown

This is a great description of what it’s like. I’m not a parent, but I am a caregiver, and I have completely lost it several times on my hapless dependent, when the last thing they needed was for me to melt down. I think the lessons of autistic parents can come in hand for us caregivers – especially if we’re dealing with cognitively impaired dependents — including our parents in later years. Women disproportionately fill the ranks of late-in-life caregivers, and many of us are on the autism spectrum. I smell trouble brewing, if we can’t figure something out…

Okay, getting off my soapbox now.

Great post!

TypicallyIndividual

PICT3180

In my house, we are all autistic and we all have meltdowns.  This post is going to be about a meltdown of mine, I may write about the children later.  It was one of the worst I have had in a long time.  Post autism diagnosis, I am in a much better position to be able to analyse what happened and figure out how to avoid another in the future.

Prior to meltdown

After a month or so of no help with childcare, I had a terrible day yesterday.  I was unexpectedly told to attend a meeting, with lots of new people.  The children had to go to a new and unfamiliar place so they were nervous, excited and boisterous. There was lots of play fighting, which inevitably turned into real fighting.  I rarely take both children out on my own. I was very stressed.

Morning of meltdown

I woke up…

View original post 942 more words

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

