Oh, yeah – I wrote a book…

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival
Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Speaking of impulse control issues, slowed processing speed, naïveté, being impressionable and easily swayed… and having it all combine in a cauldron of potential disaster… I remembered today that I wrote this book, a while back.

It’s funny how easy it is for things like this to slip my mind. I mean, who forgets that they wrote a 168-page book about one of the most significant turning points in their adult life… and forgets to blog about it?

Well, I do, for one.

And then this creation pops back on the scene, all like, “Whuut?! How could you fer-git me?!”

And then I feel like an idiot (yet again) for letting something like this fall out of my working memory.

But now, here it is — Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival –  What I Learned About the French, Life, Motorcycles, and Myself, While Flirting with Disaster in Paris Traffic

It’s a book I wrote about a year and a half ago, under a pseudonym “Ryder”. I like that name. It has a lot of significance for me, and I’ll probably keep using it for my other books, as well. VisualVox is fine for this blog, but Ryder has a … bad-ass literary ring to it. Like Asperger’s met Jack Kerouac in a dark alley, kicked his ass, and then ran off with his leather jacket, cigarette case, sunglasses, and favorite boots. It sounds adventuresome. Derring-do. Woo-hoo-ish the way I like it to.

And since I’m highly protective of my personal space (which allows me to write about highly personal things), having a couple of pseudonyms, one for books, one for blogging, is about my speed. People who can look past that and live without connecting the intimate dots of my individual life are welcome to come on by and spend some time.

More on the whole privacy thing later.

I have other books I’m going to be releasing in the coming months. It’s not hard for me. I know how to publish, and I do it well. I have manuscripts waiting — it seems, they’ve been waiting for me to just own my Asperger’s and weave that into my whole persona. Some of the manuscripts have been written for years, I just never got ’round to publishing them.

But now I am. Poetry, fiction, more adventure stories. And some genderqueer titillation / thought-provocation.

This Zen-Moto-Taxi book, I have to say, has been one of my most favorite to write and publish. It takes me back to when I was traveling to Paris regularly for work. When I actually got to leave the country on someone else’s dime. And now that I’m looking at the adventure (again) through an Asperger’s lens, a lot of things make a lot more sense now, than they ever did before. I can see how my impulse control was an issue. How communication issues were a problem. How fatigue and slowed processing all conspired to get me into a potential jam — and also how my quick reflexes and ability to “work the problem” logically saved my skin. Seriously.

I’ll be posting excerpts from it in the coming days and weeks, now that I’ve remembered it’s there. It’s published. It’s been published. And it’s available for all the world to read. I hope you will. And I hope you enjoy it!

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival
Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

What I Learned About the French, Life, Motorcycles, and Myself, While Flirting with Disaster in Paris Traffic

Get the paperback for $9.99 (USD)

Get the Kindle version for $2.98 (USD)

One thought on “Oh, yeah – I wrote a book…

  1. Pingback: The blessed end to blind writing ambition – Under Your Radar

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

