The Highs and Lows of Functionality

This is just wonderful. It sums up so much so well. I could not have said it any better. And I’m so happy I can read it – loud and clear.

Autism and expectations

I want to talk about my relationship with the functionality of Autism. This is not based on research. This is not based on how I compare myself to other autistic people, and how we fit on some imaginary scale of usefulness. This is just about me.

I don’t like the term High Functioning. Perhaps it’s partly an instinctive reaction. It sounds snooty. It sounds arrogant. It sounds aloof and cold. And these are all things that I’ve been assumed to be, because I don’t project my emotions the way neurotypicals do.

I don’t like the term because it suggests that I’m on a separate plain to the Low Functioning Autistic. I don’t like it because it belittles how much effort I put in to functioning. It makes it ok to brush my needs off as already dealt with by me.

I don’t like the term because I hear these words…

View original post 757 more words

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

