Sharing a Great Post – The Golden Ticket

This is such a hopeful post from a great blogger:

Yesterday, my life changed. Yesterday, I discovered that I have been accepted to study a PG Cert in Autism and Asperger’s syndrome at Sheffield Hallam University. I don’t have an Undergraduate degree. All I have is personal experience of life on the spectrum, and a 1000 word essay that I was asked to produce in order to prove my ability to work at Masters level. I am extremely rusty at essay writing, having to go through old file to remind myself how to reference sources properly. I am also not used to writing essay’s in the first person as this was frowned upon by Open University (and probably at most Uni’s in general). However, the title I was given was “My understanding of Autism and Asperger’s syndrome”. So I figured that I could put a different spin on it than I would with a traditional academic piece of writing.

My initial instinct was to literally reproduce everything I have learnt about Autism. The more I thought about it however, the less I felt that that was a good idea. I was being asked for MY perspective. And so rather than giving a boring timeline of developmental research, I wrote from the heart, because I am after all, passionate about the subject. Here is what came out:

Read her essay here: The Golden Ticket

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

