I know I live in an aspie house because…

cottage-mod

  1. All my interior walls are still covered with primer, and have not been painted in 12 years.
  2. Most of the curtains and fixtures in my house where inherited from the prior owners, because they were perfectly serviceable and I saw no reason to change them out, or spend money on getting new ones.
  3. All of my books are meticulously shelved and my computer equipment is very neatly arranged, but the rest of my house is dotted with stacks of stuff I’m still deciding what to do with.
  4. The kitchen calendar is either full of appointments, all meticulously recorded, or the months are completely empty, because I ran out of energy and couldn’t keep up with the changing dates.
  5. I have stacks and piles of papers everywhere in my study, but I know exactly what’s there, and if the piles were to disappear, I might not be able to find anything. I would probably forget that those things even existed.
  6. I’m surrounded by objects that are relics of my childhood. Matchbox cars and Hot Wheels, odd trinkets, pens and pencils that I have always loved… And a million other little things that serve no useful purpose, but remind me of my past and remind me about what used to matter a lot to me — and sometimes still does.
  7. There is a replica medieval dagger lying on one of my bookshelves, flanked by interesting stones, rubber balls, and some coins I collected when I was a kid. Also close by are antique collectible books and several different kinds of globes.
  8. I know what I need to do to put things in order, and I have a detailed checklist that is pages long, but I’m not sure where to start. At least, not right now.
  9. I have every confidence that in a few weeks or maybe a few months, I will suddenly be overcome with ambition and it will take me all of three hours to complete that voluminous checklist of Things That Must Be Done.
  10. I already have the air conditioner in my bedroom window, and it’s not even summer yet. I have already started turning it on at night to cool down the room so I can sleep.
  11. There are parts of my house that I have not gone into in months. Those places usually have an associated seemingly insurmountable list of to-do items associated with them.
  12. There’s plenty of minor maintenance that needs to be done on the house, but the idea of inviting workmen or hiring a single handyman to work on it for me, is completely overwhelming.
  13. Cleaning happens in flurries of activity. And I can tell when a “flurry” needs to happen, because of the sensation I get when I walk into a room. I’m starting to get that sensation from a number of rooms in my home.
  14. It’s silent, for the most part. I live on a tertiary road without much traffic, aside from rush hour. All I hear around me, right now, is chimpunks and woodpeckers and bluejays, with an occasional car in the distance.
  15. The only overhead light is in the kitchen, and that’s only used when I’m cooking at night. All other lights are indirect and are either pointing down, or up at the ceiling. No continuously used lights point down on me from overhead — at least, none that we use.
  16. My bookshelves are full of volumes having to do with a handful of interests I’ve had over my lifetime. Some of those interests are no longer relevant to me, but I can’t bring myself to get rid of the old books.
  17. I have boxes of books I no longer use stashed in my bedroom. They double as shelves.

More to come, I’m sure.

What do you think? Share your feedback - and feel free to share this post!

